Spy Catcher by Lindsay Downs

SpyCatcher_SM

Blurb for Spy Catcher:

While acting as chaperone to Lady Aleece at a house party, little does lady’s maid Debbi realize how her life will change.

Not prepared to fall in love nor see a man who bears an uncanny resemblance to her, Debbi’s world begins to turn upside down.

After several attempts on her life, and a run-in with yet another look-alike, she uncovers her true heritage, as the unknown daughter of a countess. Having been raised and trained as a lady’s maid, but educated alongside her employer, Debbi begins to wonder in which world she truly belongs.

Only when her new love’s life is threatened does Debbie claim her rightful place and do what’s necessary to save him.

Excerpt for Spy Catcher:

After breaking her fast Debbi slipped into an old, well-worn grey gown she always wore when fishing. With her custom-made flies in their protective container she and Lady Aleece, who was dressed similarly, descended the stairs to the main floor, there to be met by Lord Gerrard and Mr. Thomas.

As she stepped onto the marble flooring Debbi couldn’t help but notice how her partner, Lord Gerrard not to mention Mr. Thomas were dressed.

Instead of the immaculately turned out gentleman of breeding she notice he was in more versatile attire. He’d chosen a dark brown bandana tied loosely around his neck. His shirt, of a fawn color, was open at the collar showing a hint of tan matching the hue of his face. With the morning already warming he’d eschewed a jacket in favor of a multi-pocketed vest. She could only guess they were for the necessary accessories required when fishing. Covering his legs a pair of heavy, dark brown britches and well-worn boots on his feet.

“Why, Lord Gerrard, if I didn’t know better you look like you’re ready for a day of fishing.”

“Why thank you and I must say your gown is interesting, to say the least,” he responded.

“Before my father took to his sick bed he had been nearly fanatical about fishing and I seem to have caught the same enthusiasm.”

“Then let us be off,” he said with a smile, offering his arm.

Once on the terrace they collected their fly rods and creels from the footman and joined Aleece and Mr. Thomas on the lawn awaiting the earl to announce the start of the contest.

Glancing around at the other guests, in search of one in particular, Debbi wondered how the others save for Susan and Jeff would survive the rigors of this activity. When she spied the man, Debbi moved in such a way that Lord Gerrard was between her and Thompson. This way she could scrutinize him without appearing obvious. After a minute of studying him she turned to Aleece.

“Yes, you’re correct. If I didn’t know better we could almost be brother and sister. Not that I’d want to be related to him in any way.”

When queried by not only Lord Gerrard but also Mr. Thomas she promised to explain at the first opportunity when they were in private.

Where you can find me:

Facebook- http://www.facebook.com/lindsay.downs.7

Twitter- @ldowns2966

LinkedIn- http://www.linkedin.com/home

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3210224-lindsay

Lindsay Downs-Romance Author- http://lindsaydowns-romanceauthor.weebly.com/

Author Bio:

155741_499542680092936_1322824362_nWhat does it take to be a bestselling author? Determination, skill, talent, luck or taking a risk with a venture into a totally new genre. For me it was a little of some and a lot of the others.

In 2008 when I got two books published I thought it was due to skill; little did I know it was more luck than anything. Over the next three years I wrote, submitted, got rejected. I then did what I tell everyone who asks; I wrote some more. I didn’t give up.

More on a dare than anything I tried my hand at a regency, one of the most difficult genres because of the rules, which I might add I broke almost every one. Within two days of its release the book was on a best seller list and stayed there for two months.

Turns out it is all of the aforementioned.

After two failed marriages, one from divorce while with the other died unexpectedly I decided upon retirement to move. That opportunity came in September 2012 when I migrated to Texas.

For me, as a multi-published author, it was one of the best things I’ve done to date. Now, every day I can write, creating stories to take my readers to places they can only dream about.

I’m also a member of the Published Authors Network (PAN) by the Romance Writers of America (RWA).

Author Page:

Secret Cravings Publishing-http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=products_all&filter_author=175

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Guest Bloggers, Promotion, Release Party and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spy Catcher by Lindsay Downs

  1. Thanks so much for having me here on release day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

