Spotlight on Alien Adoration & Interview with Jessica Subject

JES-AA-BK1-300x450

I am so pleased and excited to have the fabulous sci-fi romance author and my good friend Jessica Subject back on the Journal today.  She’s graciously consented to an interview about her writing and her latest release, Alien Adoration.  (No one writes an alien/human romance like Jessica!)

Good morning, Jessica!  So wonderful to have you back on Jenna’s Journal.  Can you tell us a little bit about your current release?

Hi Jenna! Thank you so much for having me back on your blog! Hello everyone! Alien Adoration is the first book in the Alien Next Door series. It is about a down-in-her-luck young woman who has been fantasizing about her sexy playboy neighbor since the day he moved in. But she is too afraid of being rejected to even talk to him. Little does she know, he’s an alien.

What was your inspiration for this story?

Like you, I am inspired by songs. And this story was completely inspired by the song Spaceman by Bif Naked. I was cleaning, listening to this song, and the entire story idea came to me.

I am a fanatic about my character names. Are the character names special in any way?

Rachel and Luke have no significance to me. They were simply names that fit the characters. But, Luke’s name was originally Jake. The problem was, I wanted to use the same name for the hero in Accidental Romance. I had to decide which hero suited the name best.

Do you have plans for a sequel to this book?

Yes, there will be two more in the Alien Next Door series. I’ve already started book 2, Alien Admirer, which is about a young man (Rachel and Luke’s son) who is infatuated with his widowed and slightly older neighbor. He loves her two children like they were his own, but he has to convince their mother that he is not too young. He will never let her find out about his extraterrestrial DNA. And the third book will be about his sister, moving to the big city for school. She has a thing for a guy who lives on the same floor of the apartment as her, but nothing goes as planned when she asks him out.

Who was the first romance author and book you read?

Oh gosh. I cannot remember the first adult romance I read. Probably Nora Roberts. But as a preteen, I was reading teen romances such as Sweet Valley High by Francine Pascal. The very first I remember though, was No Time For Rabbits by Jane McFann. (Yes, YA did exist back when I was young. It just wasn’t labeled as such.)

Who has been the greatest influence on your writing?

There are so many people I could name here. I guess all of the authors I read have influenced my writing in some way. They’ve helped me to learn what I like to read, and what I don’t. And I try to apply what I like into my own writing. My critique partners, and my editors have also influenced my style.

What is the most exciting/daredevil thing you’ve ever done?

I’m pretty boring, I think. When I was a kid, I went on a zip line. And as an adult, I walked around a conservation area topless. Besides my husband, it was only the wildlife that saw me. I hope. LOL Though, that was before I had children.

Now, Lightning Round:

Beach or mountains? Mountains.

Boxers, briefs or commando? I love to answer commando, but in reality, boxer briefs.

Blond, brunette or redhead? (preferred men’s hair color) Any color works for me.

Would you rather skydive or scuba dive? Skydive.

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London? Hawaii.

That was such fun!  I love the lightning round!  You find out such interesting things about authors!

Giveaway!!

Jessica Subject will be giving away a $25 Amazon e-gift certificate at the end of the Alien Adoration tour. Plus, three other winners will receive Alien Adoration swag packages. No purchase necessary. Contest is international. Must be 18 years of age or older. Just sign in to Rafflecopter with Facebook or your email address on any post during the tour to be entered. Odds of winning are dependent upon how many people enter during the tour. Good luck!

Erotic dreams fill her with need…

Night after night, Rachel fantasizes about her sexy, playboy neighbor. But in her small town, no one changes, least of all the bad boy next door. But when Luke rescues her not once but twice from disastrous dates, she dares to believe her knight in black leather armor may be the right man for her after all.

Until she learns the truth…

Life on Earth has never been easy for Luke. Stranded as a little boy, he struggled to craft an existence for himself, but he never forgot the first human he met–and he never stopped wanting to see her again. Returning to Hanton, Luke longs for Rachel. Yet, nothing goes as he plans, and Rachel barely notices him. Convincing her he isn’t like all the jerks she’s dated means telling her the truth, but can she handle it?

Can she overcome her fears, or will she deny her alien adoration and leave him stranded once more?

Buy Links:

Amazon (US/UK/Canada) | All Romance | Kobo | Smashwords | more

Book Trailer:

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/S6xLMH4Ukqo?rel=0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Excerpt:

“Need a lift?”

The voice was deep and masculine, one she didn’t hear very often, but would recognize anywhere. Luke. Wonderful! He wouldn’t talk to me before, but now that I’m topless and sopping wet, he notices me.

She circled slowly to stare at the leather-clad figure sitting atop his motorcycle. The visor of his helmet covered most of his face, leaving only his luscious lips and deep, jutting chin, covered in light stubble, exposed. What would they feel like against her lips? Between her legs? Her body tingled.

“Earth to Rachel. Do you need a lift, or should I leave you here in the pouring rain?”

Oh God, he knows my name. Since they’d never actually talked—she’d only heard him greeting his dates—her name on his lips came as a surprise. “Um, yes, I’d appreciate a ride.” On his Harley, and if she was lucky, in his bed. Anywhere. Her romance-first rule didn’t apply to him. He’d already seduced her plenty in her dreams.

Remaining on his bike, he yanked a helmet from his saddlebag and held it out to her. “What happened to your pretty blouse?”

Pretty blouse? He’d seen her earlier? “I….” Fluttering rolled through her stomach. “I don’t want to talk about it.”

She grabbed the helmet from him, fit it over her soaked hair, and buckled the chinstrap. Straddling the seat behind him, she fumbled with her hands, wondering where to place them, no bar behind her to hold on to. Oh, what it would be like to wrap her arms around him, lean against his wide back covered in leather. But what if he didn’t want her to touch him?

Luke pushed off from the curb. “I suggest you hold onto me or you’re going to fall off.”

The bike lurched forward with a roar. She clasped her hands around his waist, her fingers coming together temptingly close to his manhood, cheek pressed to his cowskin jacket. His deep chuckle reverberated across her skin.

“I told you to hang on.”

And she could lean on him forever. Being so close to him with pure raw power between her legs moved her better than any fantasy she had ever created. But what is going to happen when he takes me home? Or will he invite me to his house instead?

She pressed her lips together. Sure, she wanted to know what lay under his tight pants, but she refused to be another conquest. I can’t handle it.

He drove into her driveway too soon, leaning the bike over enough for her to slip off. She removed the helmet and handed it back to him. “Thank you. I appreciate the ride.”

Tucking the helmet away, he nodded. “You want to come over for coffee?”

That and more. Though she refused to go anywhere in her state of disarray. “Um, no, I’m kind of wet.”

“Another time, then?”

She nodded. Shit, why did I say no? They could strip down together and have all kinds of fun.

But he drove away before she had a chance to retract her words.

Bio:

8350_Jessica Subject(1)Jessica Subject is the author of contemporary and science fiction romance, ranging from sweet to erotica. In her stories, you could meet clones, or a sexy alien or two. You may even be transported to another planet for a romantic rendezvous.

When Jessica isn’t reading, writing, or doing dreaded housework, she likes to get out and walk. Fast. But she just may slow down if there is a waterfall nearby.

Jessica lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and two energetic children. And she loves to hear from her readers.

Jessica is a member of RWA and the Toronto Romance Writers chapter, EPIC, and Savvy Authors. She blogs weekly at Backward Momentum, and monthly at Paranormal Romantics. You can find her at jessicasubject.com and on twitter @jsubject.

Website/Blog | Newsletter | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon | Authorgraph

Other Works:

From Decadent Publishing 1Night Stand Series:

Beneath the Starry Sky

Celestial Seduction

Unknown Futures

Satin Sheets in Space

Sudden Breakaway

Intergalactic Heat – print

The Edge

The Power of Three

Crash Landing

Alien Lover

Elatia Series:

An Unexpected Return

The Challenge series

Accidental Romance

The Underground

Never Gonna Let You Go

Single Titles

Made For Her

Coming Soon

Another Night, Another Planet (1Night Stand/Elatia)

Never Gonna Desert You (The Underground)

Indie Titles

Free Read

Last Minute Customers

This entry was posted in Contests, Giveaways, Guest Bloggers, Interviews, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Spotlight on Alien Adoration & Interview with Jessica Subject

  1. lizaoconnor says:

    I both scuba dive and sky dive, and for a first time experience, skydiving is one of the most peaceful, yet exhilarating experiences I ever had. However, if you’re going to do one of them for a weeks on end, I’d go with scuba diving. It’s easier on the body.

    Like

  2. Congrats on your book! The series sounds wonderful. Great interview and excerpt.

    Like

  3. Great premises for all three books. Congrats!

    Like

  4. I love the concept of this book. Very cute!

    Like

  5. I enjoyed the interview and the excerpt Jessica! Love the premise to your latest.

    Like

  6. flchen1 says:

    Great interview and snippet, Jessica! Thanks for the peek!

    Like

  7. Nice to see you again, Jessica. Alien Adoration sounds like a lot of fun. I love the premise. Good luck with your new release!

    Like

  8. Trix says:

    It’ll be fun to find out what trouble their kids get into!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

  9. Karen Lopp says:

    Great interview. Not sure what I’d do either if I saw an alien. So fun to meet new authors and learn about their books. Love the title.

    Like

  10. Sue says:

    I think it’s amazing you can think of a story line and two more in the blink of an eye.

    Like

  11. Wonderful interview. I tweeted.

    Like

  12. Daryl Devore says:

    Excerpt was great. What a long list of books.

    Like

  13. Jessica Subject says:

    Hi Jenna! Thank you so much for the wonderful introduction and for hosting me again on your blog! I appreciate all of your support! 🙂

    Like

  14. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Nice interview! Book sounds great!

    Like

  15. jessiel62 says:

    Hmmm….not sure what I’d do if I was looking out my window and saw an alien. I enjoyed the author interview & the excerpt from the book. I don’t normally read this genre, but I’m definitely going to be reading this one. This is the reason I follow so many blogs, I get introduced to authors that are new to me & books that I may never have come across otherwise. Thanks for having Jessica here & for the giveaway!

    Like

    • Jessica Subject says:

      Thank you very much, Jessie! It is through blogs that I found so many new to me authors as well. 🙂 I hope you enjoy Alien Adoration.

      Like

Leave a Reply

