K is for Killer…Brownies

And now for something absolutely different.

Killer Brownies. 

I stole this recipe from the costumer I worked for when in grad school.  He was a fantastic599px-Brownies_with_floral_painted_background designer and an excellent cook.  Whenever we had a dress parade (a parade of all the costumes in the show) he would work us extra hard, but he would always bring in a huge pan of what he called Killer Brownies.  To die for.

Like I said, I kind of stole this, just by asking what was in them.  I wasn’t given exact proportions, so over the years I’ve improvised and what I have now is delicious! So moist (because of the Amaretto) they melt in your mouth!  If you want a ginormous batch, just double everything.

Ingredients:

1 pkg brownie mix (can be the ultra good mix, or the .99 basic mix) I think my costumer actually made them from scratch, but I take this short cut and no one’s complained so far.

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or more if you like nuts)

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup Amoretto di Saronno liqueur (more or less.  If you use more, decrease amount of water in brownie mix instructions.)

Prepare brownie mix as called for on package.  Add additional ingredients and bake as called for on package.  You may need to cook them a little longer so the liquid will be absorbed.  Check doneness with a toothpick.  When it comes out clean, brownies are ready to cool and eat.

Try these on a romantic evening picnic for two, add even more Amoretto in your glass, and go watch the submarine races in the back yard. 🙂

Leave me a comment listing your favorite brownie add-in and I’ll throw your name into the hat for a copy of Betrothal. 🙂

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

This entry was posted in Alphabet Post, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to K is for Killer…Brownies

  1. I rarely eat brownies or anything with flour in it, though I’m getting less stuck on being Paleo as I go along. Getting Paleo ingredients here in Calgary is a huge challenge and very expensive. Your Killer Brownies sound wonderful. Resisting them would be impossible! Thanks for the great recipe. It’s a great use for the K in your series. 🙂

    Like

  2. There are two brownie recipes I use that are to die for. One is Caramel Fudge Brownies. Oh, so yummy. And the other is a peanut butter icing that I put on regular brownies. Sigh. I want brownies now.

    Like

  3. My husband makes what he calls thin brownies. They are really good. I tweeted.

    Like

  4. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Oh, my! YUM!!!

    Like

  5. Daryl Devore says:

    Putting this brownie recipe with my others and someday I am going to do a Brownie-a-thon. Might have to right that scene into a book!
    Great – yummy – post.
    Tweeted.

    Like

  6. those sound YUM! My favorite brownie add-on is peanut butter. I’m a PBaholic, anyway, but rich peanut butter and rich brownies just make me melt! For a quick fix, I add about a 1/2 cup of peanut butter…

    Like

  7. lizaoconnor says:

    I’m not interested in cooking, but who could pass a brownie. Well, technically, I have to, but mentally I can’t. I can still lust for them, even if cannot eat them anymore. I once came upon chocolate wine (some vender combined the two) and I think in a Dark Chocolate version of you recipe it would taste fabulous. There may be some problems with cooking with wine, not sure, but since I am merely imagining, It is the richest dark chocolate brownies ever and once tasted, people will eat nothing else.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I know, Liza! I only eat sweets on special occasions now. But Chocolate Wine Brownies sound phenomenal! And of course, if we’re imagining them, they have no calories whatsoever, right? LOL The perfect brownie! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

      Like

  8. wyndwhisper says:

    Hi Jenna,
    those sound delicious, I’ll have to make them this weekend. i got a recipe from Sable Hunter that was to die for. you use butter and heavy cream in a boxed mix. sooo good. i also topped them with a special caramel frosting that i make so it was like eating a square of chocolate and Carmel covered heaven. unfortunately that happens to live on my thighs and my butt! LOL!
    This is all under my breath every time i make them,so i say this alot. 🙂 (stupid,delicious,fat making brownies, can’t they make one that tastes this good that doesn’t make you fat? Please?)
    She has the recipe on her website http://www.sablehunter.com (Called Libby’sbrownies i think).

    The frosting i use is page 85 of betty crocker 40th anniversay cookbook. called Caramel Frosting.
    1/2c.butter,1c.packed brown sugar,1/4c. milk and 2 c. powdered sugar.melt butter in saucepan over med. heat,add sugar and heat to boil stirring,reduce to low boil/stir 2 minutes stir in milk.heat to boil then remove.cool to lukewarm. place saucepan of frosting in bowl of cold water and gradually add powdered sugar. beat until smooth. makes enough to from 13×9 or 9″ 2 layer cake.

    sorry for the long post. hope you like them.
    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow, thanks for the recipes, Tammy. I have to modify everything because I’m gluten-free, but I’ve learned how to substitute the flour so I will definitely give this a try! Thanks so much for coming by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

