Weekend Writing Warriors: 05/05/13 Speed Date: Lucky #8?

WEEKEND WRITING WARRIORS

Welcome back to the Weekend Writing Warriors again. I’m so enjoying seeing my old friends and finding new authors. Hope you all have a great Sunday!

Once again I’m continuing from my newest WIP, Speed Date.  This snippet immediately follows yesterday’s Sweet Saturday Sample (view here).  Roberta is at a speed dating event, her first time, and in this 8, she’s up to date #8.

Henry VIII by Joos van Cleve

Henry VIII
by Joos van Cleve

Five dates later I had the formula down pat:  your name, my name, where you’re from, what you do for a living, do you party, what kind of car do you drive or what’s you hobby?  One guy asked if I believed in a Supreme Being and I had to restrain myself from answering, “Only Diana Ross.”

Bong!

Dater Number Eight sat down, another blonde—my least favorite hair color—although it wasn’t that white blonde that I despised.  His was more of a burnished metal, the color of old, well-worn gold coins.  Red-gold is my absolute favorite hair color for a man—the coloring of the young Henry VIII.  In his early years he was gorgeous, as attested in Joos van Cleve’s portrait:  the auburn beard defining his determined jaw, the saucy look of mischief in his hazel eyes made me shiver every time I saw it. 

This guy, Number Eight, was no Henry VIII.

Hope you’re enjoying Roberta’s  foray into speed dating more than she is.  🙂

Right now, you can click here to hop on to more Writing Warrior posts!  And thanks for coming by!

This entry was posted in Blog Hops, On Speed Date, On Weekend Writing Warriors, On Works in Progress, On Writing Romance, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors: 05/05/13 Speed Date: Lucky #8?

  1. That last line is especially awesome – I love the twist from the previous description, lol.

    Like

  2. Love this! I love the fast pace, it matches the speed dating. Her mind is just racing. Love the DR comment, too. Great!

    Like

  3. Loved it! The humor is fantastic! This premise is so much fun. Can’t wait to read more! 😀

    Like

  4. SO amusing! I loved her almost answer about Diana Ross LOL. Can’t wait for more, terrific excerpt!

    Like

  5. Is number 8 her lucky number? 🙂 I love how this is panning out.

    Like

  6. Brenda D says:

    LOL, awesome sample!

    Like

  7. karen lopp says:

    Love the sense of humor and can just see this happening.:)

    Like

  8. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love her personality! I also am not really a fan of blonde hair, though I like brownish-blonde hair.

    Like

  9. danijace says:

    Cool concept. Keeps the conflict going and me coming back for more. Go Jenna! 🙂

    Like

  10. Sue says:

    Doesn’t sound like a great way to meet people

    Join the conversation
    http://sassyspeaks.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/last-words-writing-technique/

    Like

  11. Toni Kelly says:

    What fun!!! I love the way her mind works!

    Like

  12. LOL I love it, Jenna! I am afraid her take on speed dating would probably match mine if I ever did this. Great eight!

    Like

  13. DIana Ross-hysterical! Good eight!

    Like

  14. Love how she describes what she likes. Tweeted.

    Like

  15. Maybe this guy will surprise her. Fun excerpt.

    Like

  16. Margaret Taylor says:

    Love this Jenna. Nice excerpt! Fav hair color for me is black – pitch black like a moonless night…:D Glad to see she’s getting the format under control, toward the end there.

    Like

  17. Oh my goodness…this is great!!! You even do contemporary well! Tell me Henry the VIII-he’s-not is your hero?!

    Like

  18. Lauren Smith says:

    Great Snippet! I love how she analyzes the dating scenario! She manages to make it sound funny rather than frightening!

    Like

  19. Gemma Parkes says:

    This is fun, love the attitude!

    Like

  20. Daryl Devore says:

    Love the Diana Ross comment 🙂 Great snippet.

    Like

  21. Love the snippet. It’s good that it only took her 7 guys to get the format down. Can wait to see what #8 is like 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

