Weekend Writing Warriors: 04/27/13 Speed Date

WEEKEND WRITING WARRIORS

Welcome back to the Weekend Writing Warriors again. I’m so enjoying seeing my old friends and finding new authors. Hope you all have a great Sunday!

Today I’m continuing from my newest WIP, Speed Date.  This snippet immediately follows yesterday’s Sweet Saturday Sample (view here).  Roberta is at a speed dating event, her first time, and in this 8, her first “date.”

Wikimania_Washington_2012_013George, a sandy blonde with greenish eyes, kept clicking a ballpoint pen as he said,  “So, have you done this before?”

“Never,” I replied, trying to smile as if that didn’t make me sound like I was finally desperate enough to try anything.  “Are you from the area?”

“No,  I transferred six months ago from Ft. Belvoir, but I’m originally from Oklahoma.”

“I was born and raised in Tidewater and I now live on the Eastern Shore.”  I was supposed to tell these men the truth, right?  What if he was a serial killer?  At least he didn’t know where on the Eastern Shore.

Hope you enjoyed Roberta’s first foray into speed dating.  But the night’s not over yet.

Right now, you can click here to hop on to more Writing Warrior posts!  And thanks for coming by!

This entry was posted in Blog Hops, On Speed Date, On Weekend Writing Warriors, On Works in Progress, On Writing Romance, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors: 04/27/13 Speed Date

  1. Very vivid and true to life. At least I assume so! 🙂

    Like

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’d feel awkward on a speed date too. It seems like it’d be hard to find a real connection when you’re meeting so many guys in such a short time.

    Like

  3. brandi says:

    I haven’t read a speed dating story before. I could feel the discomfort here. At least she didn’t give out her address!

    Like

  4. Lindsay says:

    I could almost feel her tension about not wanting to reveal to much when she was talking.

    Like

  5. Great dialogue. It feels real and uncomfortable which makes the scene enjoyable 🙂 (at least for readers)

    Like

  6. Toni Kelly says:

    Jenna, am so loving this story. Ready for the next snippet!

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    Yeah can’t wait to see where you’re going with this. And still amused you decided on first person in this story

    Like

  8. Ha! I have to go with those who want to grab that clicking pen away. Nice detail. 🙂

    Like

  9. I’d have to take that pen away from him! This sounds exactly like the kind of thing you’d say if you were speed dating, which for the record I don’t think I could do. There probably aren’t too many serial killers there, but lots of awkwardness for sure.

    Like

  10. Great details. I’m with Ella, but I’d probably snatch the pen away and give him a chance to talk!

    Like

  11. I wouldn’t be brave enough to try speed dating. I would be thinking they were all questionable. I’m not that trusting. lol

    Like

  12. karen lopp says:

    Hey I grew up in Oklahoma:) Great eight.

    Like

  13. Sara Barnard says:

    LOVE this Jenna!! I can totally relate with the heroine’s inside thoughts!! Always second-guessing and questioning herself. Beautifully constructed and perfectly executed 🙂

    Like

  14. If a guy kept clicking his pen talking to me I’d leave. Wonderful snippet. Tweeted.

    Like

  15. Loved it, especially the pen clicking detail, very telling. Can’t wait for more, terrific snippet!

    Like

  16. Speed dating. Gives me the shivers. Good luck Roberta. Super eight. You captured the awkward moment.

    Like

  17. Lauren Smith says:

    Ooh speed dating! That’s pretty scary! I admire her trying it out. I can’t wait to see what happens!

    Like

  18. Daryl Devore says:

    The pace if the snippet is about the pace of a speed date. Great job.

    Like

  19. Cara Bristol says:

    Dialog is perfect. Exactly the kind of conversation one would have — as well as the concerns.

    Like

  20. Ooo! Love this premise! Definitely want to know who Roberta end ups picking. Great 8! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

