Sweet Saturday: 03/23/13 Betrothal ~ “A Lover’s Quarrel”

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder.

I’m continuing with a sample from my medieval WIP, Time Enough to Love:  Book 1 ~ Betrothal. I turned my edits around in about 48 hours.  Maybe only two more rounds to go!  Fingers crossed for an April release!

Disclaimer:  This work is still going through the editing process, so please forgive any flaws.  

Betrothal with Logo

This series is set in England and France in 1348.  Part 1, Betrothal, takes place at the court of King Edward III.

This excerpt comes just after last Sunday’s 8 sentences (If you’d like to read them, they are here.)  Alyse and Geoffrey are in the middle of their first fight.  He has insulted her intelligence and it does not sit well with Lady Alyse.

Her bitter accusation jolted Geoffrey. “Nay, madam,” he retorted, stung by her undeserved censure, “’twas not I who raised the initial doubt. I, in fact, championed your wisdom to Thomas.” 

“But you are here all the same, Sir Geoffrey.”  She straightened her back and clasped her hands before her.  “Obviously mistrusting me as much as your friend.”

Geoffrey shook his head.  “He knows you but little, Alyse.”

  “And you know me somewhat better, my lord, though indeed it is apparently not enough. You have asked time and again for me to trust you and I…I had begun to do so. Yet how am I to give unto you that which you withhold from me?”

“Alyse, ’tis not about trusting you. ’Twas your inexperience I feared would lead you into mishap.” A poor excuse, but the only one he could summon. Why had he listened to Thomas, God curse him? 

“I may not have been at court very long, my lord, yet I have lived my entire life among noble households. I have been taught what is seemly and what ostentation, perhaps better than you.” She closed her eyes, and when she opened them, his heart sank, for they glittered with the mistrust of two days before.

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Betrothal.   And be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love, On Works in Progress, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sweet Saturday: 03/23/13 Betrothal ~ “A Lover’s Quarrel”

  1. Love the tension between the two, and how he dug himself into trouble. He’s such a man. lol

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    He will learn not to listen to Thomas – right?? And she probably does know more about court than he. Smashing indeed 😀

    Like

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the dramatic tension between them. Geoffrey must not’ve realized what an intelligent, confident woman he was betrothed to.

    Like

  4. I love this! One step forward, two steps back. Alyse is a stronger character than she might seem — and I like that.

    Like

  5. Awesome, Jenna! I LOVE medieval romance; it’s one of my favorite genres and you do it so well. Your heroes and heroines are so dynamic…lots of tension! (Oh, and is this the cover? It’s gorgeous.)

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Christi, for your kind words. Yes, that is my gorgeous cover! Custom made by Danielle Fine. She’s doing covers for the whole series! Can’t wait for them to all be out!

      Like

  6. Sherry Gloag says:

    Oh I love this sample, Jenna.

    Like

  7. Gunnar says:

    It’s so hard to write historical dialogue that doesn’t come across as stilted, but here you’ve caught some real embers, Jenna. This is going to be a corking good story.

    Like

  8. Dig away Sir Geoffrey! I love this. And the tension is building – nicely done.

    Like

  9. Oh, he’s done it now.

    Like

  10. He digs himself deeper with every passing moment. At least he has begun to realize how foolishly he’s behaving. Well written, Jenna! I can’t wait for it to hit the e-shelves.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Geoffrey’s in for a rude awakening. Alyse is not the meek girl he believes her to be. 🙂 Yep, he’s doomed. Thank you for the sweet words, Trish. And for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

