Guest Post: D’Ann Lindun and Desert Heat

I am simply thrilled today to have one of my good friends, CP, and fellow author, D’Ann Lindun, on the Journal today.  I’ve known D’Ann for several years now, via a critique loop, and you will not find a more supportive, fun-loving, and friendly gal.  She writes western contemporary and western suspense romance and does so brilliantly.  And today she’s going to tell you about one of her newest releases, Desert Heat.  Definitely sizzling!

Desert Heat_cvr (2)

Anyone who knows me knows that a great deal of my life has been spent following my dad around on horseback guiding dudes, scouting for deer or elk or moving cows. I started riding at three years old, and being with my dad on horseback has always been one of the joys of my life. I have ridden with him in the Colorado mountains, the hills of Northern California and the Arizona desert.

In my book, Desert Heat, Mallory has not been as fortunate. Her father had another agenda, and fatherhood was not it.

Mallory James dropped her purse, keys and heavy satchel on the table by the door just as the phone began to ring.  It was probably just another solicitor on the other end and she reached for it reluctantly.  She recognized the Arizona area code but not the number.  “Hello.”

A cautious male voice on the other end asked, “Carole James?”

“Who is this?”  Mallory’s heart pinched at the sound of her mother’s name.  She’d been dead a year, but her loss still hurt.

“You don’t know me . . . my name is Mike Malone.  I’m here at the Jumping Cholla Resort . . . .”

“I’m not interested in a vacation right now.” Mallory tapped her fingers on the bar.  God, these salesmen were relentless.

“I’m not selling anything,” the voice on the other end said quickly, before she could hang up.

“What, then?”  Mallory knew she sounded rude but she was exhausted.  She had a million papers to grade, not to mention a house to clean, groceries to buy and laundry to do.  All before classes on Monday.

“Are you Carole James?” the man asked again.

“No.  What’s this about?”  She sighed heavily.  Maybe if she just heard him out, he’d go away.

“Do you know how to reach her?  Are you maybe related to a Gary James?”  Mike Malone’s voice had a hesitant quality.  Like he didn’t want to be talking to her any more than she wanted to be talking to him.

Mallory’s knees went shaky and she fumbled for a bar stool behind her.  Sinking back onto it, she asked, “Is this some kind of prank?  Who are you?”

“It’s no joke.”

Mallory’s heart pounded like an out-of-sync drum.  “Explain yourself.”

“As I said, my name is Mike Malone.  I own the Jumping Cholla guest ranch in Mesa, Arizona.  A man named Skee– Gary James lived here.  He died in one of my cabins.  There’s a letter in his effects from a woman named Carole James in Las Vegas.  On the off chance she was listed, I tried information and got this number.”

Her father was dead.

I am offering a deal on this book…review it on any reputable site, let me know, and I will send you a copy of any of my other books!

This is a fantastic offer, guys!  D’Ann’s books are fabulous!  Review a great book, get another one for free.  How can you lose!

Desert Heat is available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Crimson Romance.

Bio:

Falling in love with romance novels the summer before sixth grade, D’Ann Lindun never thought about writing one until many years later when she took a how-to class at her local college. She was hooked! She began writing and never looked back. Romance appeals to her because there’s just something so satisfying about writing a book guaranteed to have a happy ending. D’Ann’s particular favorites usually feature cowboys and the women who love them. This is probably because she draws inspiration from the area where she lives, Western Colorado, her husband of twenty-nine years and their daughter. Composites of their small farm, herd of horses, five Australian shepherds, a Queensland heeler, nine ducks and cats of every shape and color often show up in her stories!

http://dlindunauthor.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/DLindunAuthor

http://www.amazon.com/DAnn-Lindun/e/B008DKL9TU

 

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Guest Bloggers, Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Guest Post: D’Ann Lindun and Desert Heat

  1. Excellent excerpt. I just love the settings of your stories.

    Like

  2. I can’t this one, D’Ann… I’m loving the excerpts you’ve been sharing!

    Like

  3. Great excerpt!

    Congrats on all your books! Each one sounds great.

    Like

  4. Nikki Barrett says:

    Great Post! Love your books, of course 🙂

    Like

  5. Liz Flaherty says:

    This is such a great story!

    Like

  6. Loved that excerpt D’Ann!

    Like

  7. Melissa Keir says:

    How sad that her father had a different agenda. And how fortunate for you that your dad was one in a million!

    Like

  8. Karen Lopp says:

    Can’t wait to get the time to read this one, I’ve loved your other books.

    Like

  9. Sheri Fredricks says:

    Wow, what an excerpt to tease us with! This is going to be such a great read for me!!

    Like

  10. Awesome deal! I just love that cover!! And the excerpt 🙂 Can’t wait to read it, D’Ann!!

    Like

  11. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Thank you for having me today, Jenna!

    Like

  12. Ryan Brooks says:

    Cheers for sharing. Good deal on the review offer, good to know. 😉

    Like

  13. Daryl Devore says:

    Great excerpt. What a way to find out such bad news.

    Like

  14. I love this bok – such a fun read! Thanks for sharing the excerpt, D’Ann!

    Like

Leave a Reply

