Sweet Saturday: 03/16/13 Betrothal ~ “The Price of Honesty”

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder.

I’m continuing with a sample from my medieval WIP, Time Enough to Love:  Book 1 ~ Betrothal. I got my edits yesterday and I’ve only got about 40 pages left to go!  Fingers crossed I only have one or two more rounds before I release!

Disclaimer:  This work is still going through the editing process, so please forgive any flaws.  

Betrothal with Logo

This series is set in England and France in 1348.  Part 1, Betrothal, takes place at the court of King Edward III.

This excerpt comes just after last Sunday’s 8 sentences (If you’d like to read them, they are here.)  Geoffrey is trying to figure out how to ask Alyse about her choice, without making her angry.

Geoffrey closed his eyes briefly, looking for strength or inspiration, he cared not which. When he opened them, he saw the devastating effect that gesture had had on Alyse, for her face had paled and her lips quivered, though she remained otherwise composed.

“The king has taken it back, then, my lord?” Her voice trembled, and he could see what effort it cost her to remain calm. Her body tensed, as if in anticipation of a blow.

Geoffrey blinked, utterly confused by her words. “Taken what back, my lady?”

“The invitation for me to ride with you in the procession.” The words were spoken calmly, with dignity and resignation.

Geoffrey laughed, and the tension drained out of him at her words. He gathered her hands into his and looked into her troubled face. “Nay, my love. The king would not renege on such a promise. You are still to be my lady as we ride to the tournament.” Her rigid body relaxed at his words, and a smile played around her lips. “But that is what I came to ask you,” he continued, encouraged by her response. “Have you as yet chosen the knight and lady we will portray?”

Her smile turned downward as her brows furrowed. “Aye, my lord, I have chosen. But you were to give me until the evening to decide. Why such haste to know my choice now? Has the king asked for it?”

The lie would be so easy and she would never know. But his honor would not condone it. He sighed and charged onward, determined to have her know his doubts. He only prayed the price for honesty did not run higher than he was willing to pay.

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Betrothal.   And be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love, On Works in Progress, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweet Saturday: 03/16/13 Betrothal ~ “The Price of Honesty”

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    Great cliffhanger to end on! I’m really curious to know what the issue is.

    Like

  2. NancyS.Goodman says:

    I love these snippets..you always leave me wanting more!

    Like

  3. Marsha Ward says:

    Nice job, Jenna! Thanks for sharing this snippet.

    Like

  4. Good job on building tension and giving us a peek into their thoughts.

    Like

  5. Cait says:

    Good stuff, Jenna — love the building conflict!

    Like

  6. Really, there are times when discretion is the better part of valor. Then again, we love a good conflict.

    Like

  7. Liza OConnor says:

    ‘darn it! I want to know his reason and what she chose. Unfair cliff hanging. Excellent marketing ploy. Now my head is going to be pestering me about this for weeks.

    Like

  8. Karen Lopp says:

    Looking forward to more. Great snippet, Jenna.

    Like

  9. Sue says:

    I’m confused – not sure what the problem is then…

    Like

  10. Great sample, Jenna. I’m wondering what she chosen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

