Sweet Saturday Sample: 02/16/13 Betrothal ~ “A Suitable Choice”

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder.

So sorry I couldn’t post last week but I was in charge of our chapter’s writer’s conference and I forgot to bring my computer Friday night.  I was a mess, but the conference was a huge success.

Anyway, this week there’s finally another snippet from my medieval trilogy WIP, Time Enough To Love, Book I – Betrothal.  

Disclaimer:  This work is still going through the editing process, so please forgive any flaws.  But the newest version is now with my editor!  One step closer!

Betrothal with Logo

This series is set in England and France in 1348.  Part 1, Betrothal, takes place at the court of King Edward III.

This excerpt comes just after last Sunday’s 8 sentences (If you’d like to read them, they are here.)  Thomas is rather pleased with the choice of lady and knight he is to play.  He is less happy to find that the decision of Geoffrey’s role no longer rests with Geoffrey.

“’Tis unfortunate indeed that just yesterday Lord Carlyle was recalled to the Scottish border.” Thomas smiled wickedly at the thought. “Some minor uprising within his holding, I hear. ’Tis his place I take, although he was originally to be Sir Yvain and she to be the Lady of the Fountain. As I had already spoken for Sir Tristan, the lady made no protest at the change.” Thomas grinned, seeming self-satisfied at the turn of events. He looked inquiringly at Geoffrey. “And you and the delectable Alyse? Will you be Percival to her Elaine? Or mayhap Gawain and Orgeluse? I do hope you are Gawain, for Sir Tristan is one of the six knights superior to him.”

Geoffrey smiled. A challenge suited him down to the ground. “Will we joust, you and I, Thomas, to settle that question once and for all? Or a Combat of the Field with broadswords? I will meet you however you like.”

“A joust, I think. You have too much advantage with a sword, my friend.”

“’Tis done. ’Twill be a good contest, I believe.” Anticipation of such a match with his friend brought satisfaction to his voice. “Yet, Thomas, I know not which knight I shall be at present. I have given the decision to Lady Alyse, and she will tell me her choice this evening.”

Thomas stalked away then back, his lips a white line as he hissed, “I said besotted, did I not? Have you truly lost your senses? You are going to end up as Galahad, I will wager my horse on it. That starry-eyed chit will cast you as the Perfect Knight and herself as Orgueilleuse, scorn and all. ’Twill serve you right!”

Geoffrey laughed, but an uneasy doubt sprang up despite his confidence in Alyse. “I am sure the lady will choose something more suitable, Thomas. She does not like to be made a spectacle of.”

“She’ll have little choice in that respect, I think. The two of you together will draw quite some comment anyway. You were brazen enough to ask the king to allow her to accompany you. That alone has caused talk. Why, by all that is holy, did you let her choose your part?”

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Betrothal.   And be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love, On Works in Progress, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample: 02/16/13 Betrothal ~ “A Suitable Choice”

  1. Hi. Can i Share Sweet Saturday Sample: 02/16/13 Betrothal ~ A Suitable Choice to my Facebook page?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors: 03/03/13 Betrothal: “A Surprise” | jennajaxon – jenna's journal

  3. I love this book, and look forward to a release very soon. I hope the edits are painless.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors: 02/17/13 Betrothal: The Road to Disgrace | jennajaxon – jenna's journal

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the back and forth between these two.

    Like

  6. Great snippet, Jenna… I love the way you write historicals.

    Like

  7. Karen Wilson says:

    Can’t wait for it, Jenna.

    Like

  8. Love the way you string word together. I can’t figure out if Thomas is jealous or a trouble maker.

    Like

  9. Yes, he’s besotted. Love that word. Besotted.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Me too! i always think of the look on Mr. Darcy’s (Colin Firth’s) face when he’s watching Elizabeth play the piano in the BBC version. That’s besotted. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Elaine.

      Like

  10. Cara Bristol says:

    You write historical so convincingly!

    Like

  11. Jerri says:

    Very nicely done as always, Jenna!

    Like

  12. Daryl Devore says:

    This is going to be such a great read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

