My Funny Valentine

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

This time of year–Valentine’s Day–I love to watch my favorite romantic comedies.  I think comedy acts as a bond between people.  Once you’ve shared a laugh, you’ve broken down barriers, you feel more intimate with them.  I’m sure that’s why romantic comedies are deemed excellent date night fare.

My personal favorites are Notting Hill, Kate and Leopold, and Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves.  Strange to say, only the last one was viewed in the company of my husband.  He’s more of an action/adventure type of guy, so I guess that’s how I convinced him to go.  Notting Hill, however, is my number 1 fave. Not quite sure why–except his proposal at the end is the perfect blend of romance and comedy and I can’t ever watch it enough. 🙂

Film does not, however, have a monopoly on the romantic comedy. You can also find this genre in prose and enjoy it just as much if not more.  Comedy and romance are made for each other, as I found in my good friend Casea Major’s first two works.

51gpdNx1TgL._AA160_Pinocchio Syndrome, about a guy who can’t tell a lie without his you-know-what (not his nose) growing, had me laughing from page one. One Knight in Brooklyn combines adventure, humor and romance beautifully as Marianne  embarks on a 1Night Stand, bent on a perfect night with a medieval knight.  Instead 51qbtA8gBeL._AA160_she encounters a car salesman from Brooklyn and her adventure takes a whole new turn.

In fact, One Knight inspired me to write my own romantic
comedy, Almost Perfect.  In this erotic, comedic romp, Pam
ALMOST PERFECT2desires a 1Night Stand in order to get over her ex-husband.  Her fantasy date includes being ravished by a pirate a-la Orlando Bloom in Pirates of the Caribbean.  Plans go awry and she’s stranded on a desert island, trying to use every disaster movie scenario to help her survive, when her ex-husband arrives on the scene.

Want sure-fire romance this Valentine’s Day?  Then curl up with your sweetie and a good, erotic, romantic comedy.  Guaranteed to bring a smile (among other things) to your lips.  What’s your favorite romantic comedy?

Pinocchio Syndrome is available at Amazon and ARe.

One Knight in Brooklyn is available at Amazon and ARe.

Almost Perfect is available at Amazon and ARe.

And even better, for Valentine’s Day, Almost Perfect is 50% off at ARe, and Pinocchio Syndrome is FREE at Amazon!  Fill your Kindle with romantic comedy and have a fantastic Valentine’s Day!

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

This entry was posted in 1Night Stand, On Almost Perfect, On Romance, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Funny Valentine

  1. Aside from Jane Austen movies I love Mama Mia. Great post, I tweeted.

    Like

  2. Daryl Devore says:

    An awesome list of books there, Jenna.

    Like

  3. Cait says:

    I love love love Date Night — I could watch it over and over again, whenever it’s on. Never fails to have me laughing uproariously. and then the Bloopers. Great stuff!

    Like

  4. Oooh, I love all those movies. My husband and I were talking about Say Anything today. That’s not a comedy but, sigh, what a great story. Especially the part where John Cusack holds up the boombox outside her window.

    Like

  5. Kary Rader says:

    You are awesome, Jenna! What a great post. I love romantice comedy. I recently read Wallbanger by alice Clayton and loved it. Laugh out loud fun and a very well-developed romance. It was a small press release that just today got picked up by one of the BIG 6.

    Like

  6. D'Ann Lindun says:

    I’m not a fan of romantic comedies. Isn’t that funny?

    Like

  7. Bobbi Romans says:

    Favorite? Its sort of a romance. The Sweetest Thing with Christina Applegate, Selma Blair and Cameron Diaz. Makes me LOL every time I watch. http://youtu.be/fGpWRA76jzo

    Like

  8. angieia says:

    Reblogged this on angieia and commented:
    Happy Valentine’s Day!!! Thanks for the information!

    Like

Leave a Reply

