A First ~ Historical Blog Hop 02/03/13 Betrothal: A Reckoning

Today I’m starting on a SSS-esque meme, called either “The Backward in Time Blog Hop” or “Ten Sentences for Twenty Centuries,” (title TBA later).  So you’ll continue to get snippets of my historical romances, but you’ll get a little more of them–10 instead of 6 sentences!

Betrothal with Logo

For today I’m carrying on with Betrothal, my medieval romance set in the 14th century.  This snippet begins where yesterday’s Sweet Saturday post left off.  (You can read that here.)  Thomas is pointing out how besotted Geoffrey is about Alyse.  But a shadow from the past touches him.

Geoffrey opened his mouth to protest but closed it without a sound at his friend’s unflinching stare.

Thomas laughed and clapped his friend on the back. “’Tis not your fault, Geoffrey. The day of reckoning comes to us all.”

“Then why has it not come to you?” Thomas held the status of dedicated bachelor, despite the need for an heir to his title.

A shadow crossed his friend’s face and he turned away, dropping his hand from Geoffrey’s shoulder. “Oh, I have had my reckoning, if you will remember.”

Geoffrey shifted uncomfortably, stricken as the memory came back. “I beg your pardon; I had forgotten…”

If you want more, come back next week! 🙂  Thanks for coming by today for the “launch.” Please click here to hop on to more historical posts!

This entry was posted in Betrothal, Blog Hops, On Time Enough to Love, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A First ~ Historical Blog Hop 02/03/13 Betrothal: A Reckoning

  1. I want to read more RIGHT NOW. Excellent hook!

    Like

  2. angieia says:

    Reblogged this on angieia and commented:
    This sounds interesting!

    Like

  3. Tantilizing! What happens next?

    Thank you!

    Stephanie Renee dos Santos
    http://www.stephaniereneedossantos.com

    Like

  4. Carrie-Anne says:

    Very intriguing cliffhanger! I love the idea of ten sentences instead of six.

    Like

  5. Hmmm, will be interesting to read what the past day of reckoning was and how it affects this story. I’m intrigued – terrific excerpt!

    Like

  6. Kim Rendfeld says:

    Nice work. I like how you show the relationship between these two friends.

    Like

  7. Seductive excerpt. Now I want to know a lot more!

    Like

  8. Jess Schira says:

    I like their interaction. It’s obvious that they’re close.

    Like

  9. Sue says:

    Hmm not til the second book eh? I am so intrigued.. by the way I’ve posted today also 😀

    Like

  10. Yes, I think we’re all wanting to know what that memory was now!

    Like

  11. Great scene, we can all sympathize with that embarrassment… Thanks for joining the hop! Ten sentences work a lot better for historicals with all their context and detail.

    Like

  12. Loved the snippet. An historical blog hop is a great idea.

    Like

  13. Ooo, what a great idea!! Loved this snippet! 10 sentences instead of 6! Hooray!! Gimme more! Like, the entire book! 😀

    Like

  14. Daryl Devore says:

    A snippet and a teaser hook all at the same time. Great job.

    Like

  15. DebraG says:

    Opens up some more intrigue. Thanks for the additional sharing.

    Like

  16. Great snippet. I get the feeling Thomas has loved and lost, maybe?

    It will be fun to see how many SSS like blog hops pop up now. I know I started one myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

