Sweet Saturday Sample: 02/02/13 Betrothal ~ “Besotted”

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder.

Here’s another snippet from my medieval trilogy WIP, Time Enough To Love, Book I – Betrothal.  

Disclaimer:  This work is still going through the editing process, so please forgive any flaws.

Betrothal with Logo

This series is set in England and France in 1348.  Part 1, Betrothal, takes place at the court of King Edward III.

This excerpt comes just after Geoffrey leaves Alyse.  He goes to the king’s audience room and meets his friend Thomas. (If you’d like last Saturday’s excerpt, it’s here.)

  With a brief lift of his chin Thomas gave a wan acknowledgement of Geoffrey’s presence and spoke low, over his shoulder. “You have missed naught. They are still deciding the order of the procession for Tuesday. You are fortunate you will be consigned to the end, else you might have been missed ere now.” Thomas glanced back at Geoffrey with a withering look. “Another assignation with the little de Courcy? You really must find some other diversions, Geoffrey, lest your conversation become offensive in its monotony.” 

Geoffrey leaned back against the cool, stone wall adjacent to one of the few windows in the chamber. He crossed his arms easily over his chest, hardly able to contain his amusement. “Jealous, Thomas?” 

Thomas turned to him, incredulous. “Will you mock me to my face, sir?”

 “Only if I cannot do so behind your back.” 

“You did not take offense at that, Geoffrey. ’Twas said in jest only.” 

“True,” he acknowledged. “But you have since protested an aversion to my betrothed. Overmuch so, mayhap.” His manner was light but not his tone.

 Thomas sighed. “Be easy, Geoffrey. I make no designs on the fair Alyse. I would not serve you that way. I simply chafe at a good companion lost, ’tis all.”

 “Lost? How lost, Thomas? We are together much as we have always been. I grant I have busied myself with Lady Alyse these last few days, but once we are married life will settle down again.” 

“Aye, you may think that, but I hold no such illusions. Will you leave your young bride to go out drinking and carousing with Patrick, Robert and me? You are more taken with this woman than any other I have ever seen and you have not even bedded her yet.” Thomas’s lazy smile spoke of his amusement. “Although mayhap that experience will drive you back to the likes of us.”

Geoffrey’s sudden scowl drew a laugh from his companion. “Again, I mean no offense to your betrothed. Only that once the mystery is gone, the passion may leave as well. I can attest to that myself.” 

He grunted in acknowledgement; Thomas seldom tarried in one bed overlong. “You must admit you seem overly protective of this maid.” Thomas’s words probed unmercifully, and he squirmed against the cool stone. “If I spoke of another man, I might even call him besotted.”

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Betrothal.   And be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love, Promotion, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample: 02/02/13 Betrothal ~ “Besotted”

  1. Pingback: A First ~ Historical Blog Hop 02/03/13 Betrothal: A Reckoning | jennajaxon – jenna's journal

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    Sometimes we don’t see ourselves the way others see us. Thomas sounds like he might be stirring up trouble as well.

    Like

  3. I love this dialogue. It takes a friend to point out what Geoffrey can’t see for himself. Through Thomas’s teasing and Geoffrey’s replies, it’s obvious the two men have affection for one another.

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    I don’t llike thomas either and he is so jealous or envious – whichever – I have no doubt you will give him what he deserves

    Like

  5. I think Thomas is a trouble maker.

    Like

  6. I love that word besotted. Too bad we don’t use it today. I also think Thomas is right. Geoffry has fallen hard for her.

    Like

  7. It seems Thomas can see what Geoffry can’t… Great sample!

    Like

  8. Sherry Gloag says:

    It seems it takes friend to hint before Geoffry realises he’s fallen for his bride.

    Like

Leave a Reply

