Six Sentence Sunday–01/13/13 Betrothal ~ “An Honor”

Welcome to Six Sentence Sunday!  I’m working on my medieval novella, Betrothal, so I thought I’d share six sentences of that this week.

Betrothal with Logo

This snippet continues from where I left off yesterday on Sweet Saturday Sample, which you can read here.  Geoffrey has just given Alyse some unexpected news about the coming joust and the part she is to play in itAn.

Alyse’s mouth dropped open and a thrill coursed through her body. “But I am only Princess Joanna’s attendant, Sir Geoffrey. Usually such honors are reserved for the Queen’s and Princess Isabella’s ladies, or the Duchesses and Countesses in the Royal Family. Why did they choose me?”

“Because I am to be one of the knights, and I begged a boon of the king to allow you to be my lady.”

She stared at him in shock, almost unbelieving, though she knew he would not lie about such a thing. 

Thanks so much for visiting me today.  

Now pop over to the Six Sentence Sunday list and check out the rest of the snippets.  See you there!

This entry was posted in Betrothal, Cover Art, On Only Scandal Will Do, On Six Sentence Sunday, On Time Enough to Love, On Works in Progress, Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday–01/13/13 Betrothal ~ “An Honor”

  1. Pingback: Sweet Saturday Sample: 01/19/13 Betrothal ~ “Speechless Again” | jennajaxon – jenna's journal

  2. Great cover for this little gem! Sounds like a nice surprise for her!

    Like

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    Geoffrey must’ve fallen hard for her if he begged for that favor!

    Like

  4. Paloma Beck says:

    the ultimate declaration of the times… to beg a boon of the king.

    Like

  5. Oooh, does she have a surprise coming.

    Like

  6. Cara Bristol says:

    I like the consistent voice of this piece.

    Like

  7. Sounds like a nice surprise for her!

    Like

  8. Oooh, interesting. I’m wondering what happens next.

    Like

  9. Love the tension here! This was such a cool phrase: begged a boon of the king. Loved it! Great 6! 😀

    Like

  10. Gem Sivad says:

    And that means she’s very special to him. Now, is he special to her? I’m definitely going to find out. 🙂

    Like

  11. Jessica Subject says:

    Oh, a surprise for her on both accounts. Great six! 🙂

    Like

  12. Great six… I’m wondering what Alyse will think of Geoffrey now….

    Like

Leave a Reply

