Holiday Gifts of Love BlogHop December 14-17 “Traditions”

C

Holiday traditions are big at our house.  They always have been, from the time I was young.

When I was a little girl, we always had a live Christmas tree, put multi-colored candles in the window, sent Christmas cards, and listened to special Christmas music:  A Firestone Christmas album of Julie Andrews singing Christmas carols and Elvis Presley’s Christmas Album.  (Christmas still isn’t Christmas without listening to The King sing White Christmas and Santa Bring My Baby Back. 🙂

16272368_sMy mother and I always made Christmas cookies (my cousin’s recipe) and a cake in the shape of a Christmas tree–with green icing of course.  And I always loved wrapping the presents.  I wrapped all of our gifts and then went to my aunt’s house and wrapped hers!

On Christmas morning I always got up early, so my dad could watch me open my presents before going off to work (he got double time on Christmas Day).  We had ham biscuits under the tree as we opened presents, then after all the ooohing and ahhhing was done, my  mother and I would dress up in our new outfits and make the rounds of the family.  It simply wasn’t Christmas if we didn’t visit cousins and aunts and uncles all over the area.  And always in the same order.  Like I said, tradition is a strong part of the holiday for me.

Now, with my own family, the traditions have changed some.  I still send Christmas cards–I address them on Black Friday!  We still have a live tree (always will if I have anything to16397387_s say about it), but now our girls decorate it all by themselves, a tradition we started when they were about 5 & 6.  We don’t bake special cookies, but Christmas is still about special foods. We have oyster stew and ham biscuits for breakfast.  For lunch Cornish game hens.  And for desert, sherry trifle and pumpkin pie.  We stay home all day and play with our “toys,” though sometimes we go to a movie in the afternoon.  (This year we go to see Les Miserables!)

Each of the tales in my collection of Christmas stories, All Wrapped Up, began with a tradition:  giving presents, mistletoe, caroling, and Christmas dinner.  These romances are short and sweet–or as one reviewer put it “like eating romance M&Ms.”

Blurb for All Wrapped Up:

Four short stories filled with romance at Christmas time.
The Present
A girl has to break the news to her sister’s boyfriend that he’s being dumped–on ChristmasRobin-final Eve– and finds herself a pawn for the boyfriend’s revenge.
Sing A Christmas Carol
A singing group’s decision to drop one member before the big carolling competition leads to an awkward situation.
The Kissing Tree
Two children discover a secret place on Christmas Day–with far-reaching effects.
‘Tis the Season
A Christmas dinner announcement shatters a young girl’s dream of a magical social season until a knight in shining armor proposes an alternate plan.

Now to the real fun stuff!  We want to hear about what you do for the holidays, what you read, and who you’ll spend it with. We hope to see you here and happy hopping!

And while we do that, we are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 200 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger.

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $200 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains paperbacks, ebooks, 50+ bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

In addition, I’m giving away a copy of one of my back listed book–and that’s ANY one of my books!  From newest releases (Only Scandal Will Do and 7 Days of Seduction) to old favorites.  To be entered into the giveaway, leave me a comment WITH YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS (If you don’t leave an email, you won’t be eligible to win.) and tell me about your holiday traditions.

After commenting, please click the icon below to take you to the linky list and the next blog with Christmas cheer.  Happy Holidays!

button4hop

 

This entry was posted in Blog Hops, Giveaways, On All Wrapped Up, On Holiday Stories, Promotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Holiday Gifts of Love BlogHop December 14-17 “Traditions”

  1. Jessie L says:

    We just returned from spending a long weekend in NJ with our older children & family. We like to spend Christmas, here at home, in FL. Our favorite tradition is decorating the tree together & seeing our favorite ornaments that we have collected over the years. Thanks for the giveaway!
    JessieL62@comcast.net

    Like

  2. I will be spending it with my 6 kids still living at home and hoping for snow to go build a snowman.
    Z
    Seawitchreviews at yahoo .com

    Like

  3. Tonda Hargett says:

    Cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning!
    smoofrog at gmail dot com

    Like

  4. Thanks for participating in the hop! Happy holidays!

    squiggles87(At)aol(dot)Com

    Like

  5. Carla says:

    My favorite thing about this season is cookies; I love making and eating them. Everyone is so willing to share.
    planterofhope at aol dot com

    Like

  6. Lisa Rayns says:

    I’m spending this holiday season with my family and hoping to win so I can read more romances. I don’t have an ereader. Happy Holidays! lisarayns at gmail dot com

    Like

  7. Shadow says:

    What an awesome hop!! And a fantastic giveaway! Thank you!! Happy holidays to you all! Best wishes and many blessings!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  8. Missie Jones says:

    I spend it with my family & friends.
    Happy Holidays, Big Hugs
    Missie Jones
    missie25524@netzero .com

    Like

Leave a Reply

