Sweet Saturday Sample: 10/20/12 Time Enough To Love–Betrothal: “A Scholar and A Wit”

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder. Here’s another post from my new WIP, my medieval trilogy Time Enough To Love.

Part 1 is called Betrothal and I’m so excited!  I still have a tentative release date of late-October, and I will keep you informed.

The series is set in England and France in 1348.  Betrothal takes place at the court of King Edward III.

This excerpt is UNEDITED.  Please be kind.

Lady Alyse de Courcy is a waiting gentlewoman to Princess Joanna, youngest daughter of King Edward.  After receiving the news that the new courtier, Sir Geoffrey Longford, is her betrothed, a dazed Alyse is less than happy with her arranged marriage.   I’m skipping ahead to the following night, at dinner, Geoffrey has drawn Alyse over to his table, hoping to talk to her in private.  He is met, however, with his group of friends, led by Thomas who think to make sport of the couple.  Thomas makes the suggestion (in jest) that Alyse should know him before she is wed.  Geoffrey, piqued that Alyse still shows an interest in his friend, gives her leave to answer the lewd statement. But when she acquits herself credibly in wordplay, she draws Geoffrey’s ire–and something else.

I continued this excerpt in Six Sentence Sunday last week which you can read here.  And we continue on:

“I presume from your sharp repartee with Thomas, that you are both a scholar and a wit?” His mocking tone surprised him, a reaction, he supposed, to the unexpected skill she had shown in her use of language. He scowled, assailed by unbidden jealousy at the remembrance of Thomas’s kiss on her hand, although he knew such feelings were madness. His friend’s attentions were the courtly fashion, a game Geoffrey knew he played exceedingly well.

 “Lady Alyse?” She had taken so long to reply Geoffrey had to ask again. “Do you attend me, my lady?”

The maid seemed to shake herself from a reverie and turned cautious eyes towards him. “Aye, my lord, I beg your pardon for not attending. . . my mind had. . . I am sorry, my lord.” She peered at him, pitiful and confused. “What did you ask of me?”

Geoffrey snorted. “I think I have my answer, lady, yet I will ask again. Are you both a scholar and a wit?”

Alyse ventured a small smile. “’Tis hard to answer yea, my lord, having just proved my lack of wits to you. Yet I have some pretense to both charges when I am hard pressed, as you heard before with Lord Brayton.”

 “Yes, you did acquit yourself admirably with Thomas.” That exchange still sat ill with him.  “But you do not care to trade banter with me, lady? Our conversations so far have not shown me your great skills in wordplay. Would you deny me this pleasure with you?”

“Nay, my lord, I would deny you no pleasure.” Alyse stopped and clapped her hand over her mouth, her eyes widening in horror. Her face deepened to a brilliant shade of scarlet as she realized the import of her unthinking words.

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Time Enough to Love.  Stop by SSS tomorrow for more six sentences from Betrothal.   And today be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

   

 

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample: 10/20/12 Time Enough To Love–Betrothal: “A Scholar and A Wit”

  1. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday–10/21/12 Time Enough To Love: Betrothal ~ “Excellent Sport “ | jennajaxon – jenna's journal

  2. I agree. I’m feeling sorry for her.

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the ending! That was a great Freudian slip.

  4. Lindsay says:

    Oops. Me thinks she should think better before speaking

  5. I’m with Sharon…love it and feel sorry for her, too. lol

  6. Ooops. :) Freudian slip perhaps? (Of course, Freud wasn’t around then…but if he was!)

  7. Sharon Cullen says:

    LOL! Love it. Poor girl.

  8. LOL. Revealed a little something, didn’t she?

Leave a Reply

