7 Days of Seduction–Inspiration in a Playlist

I am Happy Dancing!  I just finished final edits for my erotic contemporary 7 Days of Seduction and sent them off!

What a long, strange trip it’s been.  With a lot more music for my playlist than I usually get.

I began this story over a year ago, last August, when I kept hearing Katie Perry’s “Last Friday Night” on the radio all the time.  Loved the beat, loved the idea of an out of control party that comes back to bite the girl in the butt. (Her video is so what I envisioned!)  So I started thinking about how many of the ideas in the lyrics I could incorporate into a story that starts with a girl waking up in bed with a guy and she can’t remember a thing about the party the night before.  Except what her ex-boyfriend caught on tape.  And that’s an eye full.

As I began to write the first chapter, the girl wakes up to the pounding beat of a song on the radio.  Last year I just loved Niki Menaj’s “Super Bass,”  so that’s the song I always envision on Ashley’s radio.

And then Lady Gaga came out with “Edge of Glory” which just about described Ashley and Hunter’s relationship:  “I need a man who thinks it’s right when it’s all wrong.”  And “It’s time to feel the rush/To push the dangerous/I’m gonna run back to,/To the edge with you/Where we can both fall over in love.”  Hunter is one who pushes the envelope a bit. :)

In keeping with Hunter’s “bad boy” persona, The Cab’s “Bad” speaks perfectly to his feelings.  “I want a bad girl, baby, bad/I want a love that’s crazy, yeah/I want a bad girl, baby bad!”  And with a little “colorful” encouragement, he thinks Ashley can be “bad” too.

I’m not sure when 7 Days of Seduction will be releasing yet, but I’ll keep you informed!  I’m hoping it will be out before the end of October.  Can’t wait to share more of it with you.  Here’s the blurb and an excerpt.  Enjoy!  And anticipate! :)

Blurb for 7 Days of Seduction:

Ashley is known for her outrageous parties and last Friday night was no exception.  Except she wakes to find a video of her in the middle of a menage-a-trois with a close friend and a gorgeous stranger.  Unable to remember anything about the night, other than the hot sex she sees on the computer screen, Ashley begins a search for Mr. Hunk.  She has no luck until he unexpectedly shows up–in her shower.

Hunter Hopewell would love to initiate Ash into a variety of sexual experiences he finds exciting.  He proposes a week of sexual experimentation designed to awaken Ashley’s desire for the “colorful,” and him.  But are his tastes too wild even for her?

Excerpt from 7 Days of Seduction:

The bathroom door opened and closed. Her hands froze.

“Damn it, Sam. Why is it every time I take a shower you have to pee? Couldn’t you just hold it for once? Or pee in a cup, for God’s sake?”

“I’m not Sam. And I don’t have to pee.”

Ashley’s eyes popped open and the bottle of body wash hit the tub with a loud thunk. The husky voice she’d heard on yesterday’s video and in this morning’s dream was richer in person. Sexier. Her heart took off like a deer after a shotgun blast. She peered at the shower door, seeing only a shadowy figure through the opaque glass. Well thank, God, for that. He couldn’t see her either.

“Hello? Are you there, Ash?” The amusement in his tone brought her back to earth.

“Yeah, I’m here. And just who the hell are you?”

“I’m Hunter Hopewell. Sorry we didn’t really get introduced the other night.”

“No shit.” Damn. The all-important name meant nothing. The spray from the shower roared in her ears and Ashley took a step toward the shower door.

“So who are you? I mean, you say Hunter Hopewell, but I don’t know you. And you know me.”

“Yes, I do. I’ve never met you, but I’ve been interested in you for a while now.”

Despite the hot water, chills raced over her body, standing her hair on end. Oh, my God. A stalker. I’ve attracted a stalker. And I’m shut in a bathroom with him. Suddenly, she couldn’t breathe.

Does music inspire your writing?  What kinds do you listen to when you write or read?

This entry was posted in On Seven Days of Seduction, On Writing Erotic Romance, Promotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 7 Days of Seduction–Inspiration in a Playlist

  1. Congrats on finishing your edits, Jenna!

  2. I love alpha males, but I don’t like being called “old school.” :) Wonderful post.

  3. My mom likes Nirvana, Pearl Jam, all the best of the grunge era, while I stick to classical or Motown.

  4. Brenda says:

    Congrats on completing your edits. And this story sounds like one I need to read! I love Jenna Jaxon stories!

  5. Sharon Cullen says:

    How interesting to learn where you got your ideas. Songs can be so inspirational.

  6. sue says:

    congrats on getting the edits done! Funny how we get ideas.

  7. nikkiprince says:

    What a great story idea…using what you love. I love Super Bass by Nicki Minaj too. I don’t have anything in particular that inspires me. It’s usually a bunch of things. Music, a movie, a picture of a character or two…

    Nikki

  8. “Colorful encouragement.” Love that, Jenna. I know you’ll have great success with this book. Your writing always stands out among the crowd.

    Preferring quiet, I don’t have a playlist myself, but I am often inspired by music I listen to in the evenings. When I wrote the Journey books I listened to a lot of country music and found that kept the twang in my dialog and the countrified manners in my characters’ behavior.

    Good luck with your book, and congratulations on getting those edits done!

  9. Same here. I can’t write if there’s music or tv on.

  10. Daryl Devore says:

    Great excerpt. It has to be quiet when I write – or my mine will follow the music. I distract easily.

  11. love it, Jenna! Good luck with the book, from the sound of the playlist alone I think I’d love it. :)

Leave a Reply

