Six Sentence Sunday–08/05/12 Time Enough to Love: Betrothal

Happy Sunday!  I’m switching to a snippet from my medieval trilogy, Time Enough to Love:  Book 1 Betrothal. I’ve finished the first draft, sent in to betas and had it returned.  Now I just need to polish, have my wonderful editor take a look, and I hope to have it come out by the end of the summer as the first novella of the trilogy.  (Soon to be followed by Books 2 & 3)

Yesterday on Sweet Saturday Sample I gave a look at the girls getting ready for bed after the banquet.  Today, I’m giving a snippet from the guys perspective.  Hope you enjoy!

Armorial Goblet– c. 1500
Robert Lehman Collection, 1975 1975.1.1218

Seated in a chair before the banked fire, Thomas relaxed with a cup of wine, his foot outstretched to the hearth, and spoke in his most persuasive voice.   “You cannot tell me you intend to retire at this hour—it is not yet midnight and there is to be a game in Sir John Claymore’s apartments this evening.”

Geoffrey strode to the table, dressed in nothing but his chausses, took a cup of the sweet wine for himself and shook his head.  “Nay, Thomas, I plan an early morning.” 

“Hawking or hunting?”

“Most definitely hunting.”

 

But what game is Geoffrey hunting?  We’ll see next week. :)

Thanks so much for visiting me today.  Now pop over to the Six Sentence Sunday list and check out the rest of the snippets.  You’ll have a blast!

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Six Sentence Sunday, On Time Enough to Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday–08/05/12 Time Enough to Love: Betrothal

  1. I guess running behind on SSS has its benefits. I don’t have to wait to see what he’s hunting, LOL! Intriguing six!

  2. Skye Warren says:

    Ooh, very sexy. Is this one published yet? No, right?

  3. I haven’t read a good medieval novel in quite awhile, love the sound of this! Excellent excerpt, happy hunting to him!

  4. Karen Wilson says:

    Happy hunting Geoffery. LOL his prey may think otherwise, though

  5. Amy Gregory says:

    Ah very intriguing!
    Hugs,
    A

  6. I’m wondering what he’s going to be hunting in the early morning! Nice six. :)

  7. Daryl Devore says:

    I suspect he is hunting 2 legged game

  8. Ah hunting. Somehow I don’t think it’s an animal variety lol

  9. Sounds great! I’ll have to add this to my reading list.

  10. I love historicals :) Great six!

  11. K.E. Saxon says:

    That sound both ambitious and promising, LOL! This sounds like a very fun story. Great six!!

  12. Great six, Jenna. And yes, what game is he hunting and what will he do when he catches her?

  13. Definitely an intriguing six….hope you follow it up next week with more Jenna :)

  14. Great six. I know exactly what he’s going to be hunting, or should I say who.

  15. Great six, Jenna. The question is, will he catch what he’s hunting?

  16. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’m also wondering just what he’s going to be hunting in the morning. Nice six!

  17. Ha, that’s awesome! Ooo I’m so excited to read this one. :)

  18. Sue says:

    So that’s settled we all know what he’s hunting

  19. Ooo Ooo! That’s what I was wondering! Is he hunting for a lady?? Woot! Great 6 chicka! :D

  20. I LOVE medieval’s!!!! I wish more authors wrote them. Great six!

  21. Cara Bristol says:

    I suspect it ’tisn’t fox nor fowl for which he be hunting.

  22. Oh yes! I must know what he is hunting. Fabulous six.

Leave a Reply

