Sweet Saturday Sample: 8/4/12 Time Enough To Love–Betrothal

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder. Here’s another post from my new WIP, my medieval trilogy Time Enough To Love.  Part 1 is called Betrothal.  The series is set in England and France in 1348.  Betrothal takes place at the court of King Edward III.

Lady Alyse de Courcy is a waiting gentlewoman to Princess Joanna, youngest daughter of King Edward.  After receiving the news that the new courtier, Sir Geoffrey Longford, is her betrothed, a dazed Alyse is less than happy with her arranged marriage.   Today’s snippet takes place after her initial meeting with Sir Geoffrey, alone with her current bedfellow, Anne, in their room preparing for bed.

“So you finally got your wish, Alyse?”  Anne’s caustic voice oozed sarcasm, and betrayed more than a touch of envy. As she sat on the bed they shared, she brushed her hair with hard, determined strokes. 

 “I got my answer, Anne, not my wish.” Her tone just as terse, Alyse folded away her rose gown and closed the lid of the chest.  Standing in her plain white linen shift, she began to unpin her hair.

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art–Chemise/Shift
(Later than Medieval Period) Similar to Older Periods

“You would wish to be married to someone other than Geoffrey Longford?”  Anne scowled and stroked harder.  “Did you look at him Alyse?”  Her tone was less strident, more wistful.  Anne’s father had betrothed her to the Viscount de Mantillas, reported to be an older Spanish nobleman, and she had bemoaned thoughts of her wedding night before now. 

Her hair freed, Alyse brushed with vigor, venting her temper with each stroke. “Aye, and all together too close! As I said earlier, looks are not the only consideration for a husband. From what I observed, Sir Geoffrey has quite a high opinion of himself and no regard for my feelings.”  She paused, remembered his response to her silent plea.  “Almost no regard.  And did you see how huge he is?  Up close I mean?  He could crush me like flea if I displeased him!”

“So do not displease him!  All a woman need do is warm a man’s bed well enough and she’ll find favor with him.  You should have little trouble seeming eager with such a man between your sheets.  Do you think he’s huge all over?” 

“Anne!”

“Even if he’s not, I’d change places with you in a snap of my fingers.”  Anne handed her brush to her roommate then scooted beneath the covers.  “You’re so besotted with Lord Brayton— who never gave you a serious thought—you can’t see a gift from God when it’s set down before you.”  She turned her back and commanded brusquely, “Blow out the candle when you’re done.”

Makes you hope Alyse has a better bedfellow shortly! LOL

I hope you enjoyed this latest sample from  Time Enough to Love.  Stop by SSS tomorrow for six sentences from 7 Days of Seduction.  And today be sure to click here to visit moreSweet Samples.

   

This entry was posted in On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Time Enough to Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample: 8/4/12 Time Enough To Love–Betrothal

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the dialogue between them. I too am wondering how the relationship between Anne and Alyse is going to develop.

  2. Oh, poor Alyse, I think he instincts are probably right!

  3. When Alyse asked if Anne knew how huge he was, my mind went there. Yes it did. So when ANNE voiced my own thoughts, we shared a high five. I just thought you’d like to know that. *grin*

  4. Joselyn says:

    Love where this is going!

  5. I think she’d give him to Ann in a minute.

  6. That’s a great scene. I can’t wait to read more. See, you’re doing it again.. reeling me in and stuff. Lol.

  7. Marsha Ward says:

    I love it! Great scene, Jenna.

  8. Very nice. She’s going to be so surprised.

  9. Lindsay says:

    Sounds like Anne might be in the mood to cause a little trouble

  10. Sue says:

    she sure is stubborn.

  11. Carin W says:

    Wonderful example of your work! Thanks Jenna

  12. Daryl Devore says:

    Great Saturday Sample

Leave a Reply

