Friday Favorites–The Villain

(If you are looking for the Blog Hops scroll down!)

I did this post last week and so many people liked having the opportunity to respond that I thought I’d try it as a regular feature for a while and see how it goes.  So welcome to Friday Favorites where each week I’ll ask you to post an excerpt about a favorite.  Last week was favorite hero.  This week it’s your favorite villain.

Do you have a favorite villain that you’ve written?  Someone so deliciously oily and evil that you enjoyed every minute he was on stage in your story and loved it even more when he was finally brought low?

Looking back on the stories I’ve written, many of mine had conflict mostly between the hero and heroine, or together they struggle against some natural disaster so a villain isn’t present.  And in one of my books, the true villain is never actually seen, though his actions set my H/H to swimming in a river of misery.

I do, however, have one real bad guy that I just love to hate:  Phillipe Tondereau, Vicomte St. Cyr from the second book in my Georgian series, Only Marriage Will Do.  Phillipe was previously engaged to the heroine, Lady Juliet Ferrers, though their betrothal was broken off by Phillipe’s father.  A year later Phillipe has turned up in London with papers claiming Juliet was married to him by proxy in France.  And the nasty little popinjay will stop at nothing to try to get her back:

“This need not concern the marquess.  I can arrange for your marriage to this gentleman,” St. Cyr waved his hand at Amiable dismissively, “to be annulled and then we can. . .”

“I am afraid that is out of the question, St. Cyr,” Amiable broke in.  “Disabuse yourself of the idea that I will have my marriage to Juliet annulled, with or without her brother’s consent.  She is my wife and there’s an end to it.  You have upset her enough for one day and I will thank you to leave.”  Amiable tried hard to keep a civil tone when he really wanted to take the young fop by the seat of his satin breeches and throw him out the front door.

“Juliet, ma chere,” St. Cyr reverted to his native French.  “You cannot have a serious regard for this monstrous oaf?”  His eyes raked Amiable’s form contemptuously.  “He is a barbarian compared to me, my dear.  I can make you forget him, forget any of his crude gestures.  Do you remember our embrace?  At the King’s Christmas court ball?  Such a quaint custom of the mistletoe.  You seemed to long for more than just my tongue that night, my sweet.”

“Philippe!”  Juliet stared at him in horror, blushing until her face matched the hue of her dress.

Anyone who would embarrass a lady to that degree is a true villain!  And he only gets worse as the book goes on. :)

Now, why don’t you tell me about your favorite villain?  Decide which of your bad guys  you’d like to introduce everyone to, and choose a snippet about this character (preferably no more than 200 words) to share about him. (A snippet from your manuscript would be awesome, but if you’re not comfortable with that, you can choose to do a character sketch–something to show us your character and writing.)  And if you’re not an author or just can’t decide, tell me about a villain you’ve read who really made you hate the ground he walks on. (Outside of my novels, probably Jack Randall from Outlander is the character I most love to despise.)  Can’t wait to see you playing favorites again!

This entry was posted in About Characters, Friday Favorites, Only Marriage Will Do and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Friday Favorites–The Villain

  1. Cera duBois says:

    Oh, my all time favorite villian is Leon Ferguson from Gambling On a Secret (Lyrical Press January 2013). He’s an oilman, devious and I’m not ashamed to admit I modeled him after one of my favorite TV villains–JR Ewing…(and yes I’m loving the remake of Dallas).

    Great excerpt, Jenna…

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, Cera. I never got into Dallas, but everybody know JR Ewing! So I have a very good idea of the kind of man your villain is, Cera. Oily and not just from his oilwells! Can’t wait to read about him!

  2. Hurray, I love reading different villains for some reason. And I actually have one. His name is Geoffrey and I think he’s just crazy. Not too sure yet. He is a WIP.

    The constant drum of his fingernail tapping against the oak table echoed throughout the dismal great hall void of its usual inhabitants. Lord Geoffrey Ross stared across the distance of the chamber to the enormous hearth, lost in the iridescent flames.
    For days, he’d sat in this very spot and anticipated any word of Arabella. He‘d waited patiently for his soldiers to return. And for days, he’d had no word whatsoever. Where were his men? More importantly, where was his bride?
    The two serving wenches had been quick to offer up Arabella’s maid as the culprit in her escape. A pity about their unfortunate deaths, his men had enjoyed the whores.
    Geoffrey sought out the maid in question and learned the old hag had disappeared. How the woman managed to slip past the heavily guarded gate, he was interested to know. His men couldn’t find a trace she’d been in the demesne, much less could they pick up her trail.
    He closed his eyes and brought his hand up to rub above his brow. An ache hammered through his head and threatened to snap the delicate hold on his sanity he grasped with desperation. With each new passing day, more of his mind slipped through the fragile, narrowed cracks onto a path of madness.
    Arabella could save him from this mania overwhelming him. How could she leave him? Didn’t she realize how much he needed her?
    Geoffrey shifted in his seat and reopened his eyes. She would have to be taught obedience once he got his hands on her again. He didn’t wish to break his little dove. She had such fire and it was not his wish to extinguish the flame in her. No doubt, his lessons on compliance would make for interesting bed sport. A shudder worked its way up his spine. Very interesting sport, indeed. A slow smile spread across his lips.
    One of the guards strode into the hall and halted once he stood feet from where Geoffrey sprawled. He did not turn his head in direction of the soldier for another moment. Once he did, he noted the man’s gaze would not meet his own.
    “You have something to tell me?” His calm, steady voice surprised him.
    A frown marred the man’s pox-marked face. “I came as quick as I could, my lord. We’ve found the men.”
    The soldier’s hesitant voice did not bode good tidings. Geoffrey imagined he could hear a couple more frayed threads of his sanity break.
    “And? Where are they? Where’s Lady de Percy?”
    “We’ve found no trace of the Lady, my lord.”
    He slapped his palm against the grains of wood, which caused the soldier to visibly flinch.
    With his jaw clenched, he managed to grate out, “Where are my men?”
    The guard fidgeted with the sheathed weapon at his side, swallowed audibly and refused to cast his head upward.
    “Forgive me, my lord, but they are all dead.”
    The blood in his veins simmered and his vision blurred. His fingers curved into talons as they dug into the grains of wood beneath them.
    “Explain.” His voice sounded harsh to his own ears.

  3. caseamajor says:

    Jenna – I’m afraid I don’t write too many scary guys or gal. Somiss from Kathleen Duey’s Ressurection of Magic series is one of the scariest bad guys I’ve ever read. Dark and Disturbing and he would eat the lovely Captain Randall for lunch…literally.

  4. I think the best villain I’ve written, and perhaps the silliest, is Emiliana Santa Maria from my cracked fairy tale, Snowy and the Seven Wharves. Emiliana is the wicked step mother (of course!). Here’s an excerpt where we meet the evil b*tch. (Please note, her initials are ESM –evil step mother. I have a weird sense of humor.) Amazon link: http://goo.gl/wmBQM

    Emiliana Santa Maria rolled a blonde curl around her finger and patted it in place at the side of her face. She wound up a little music box next to her mirror and set it down to play a tinny rendition of “I Only Have Eyes for You.”

    “You’re perfect,” she told herself as she gazed into the mirror. “Now don’t forget to smile.” The face reflected back to her made a show of teeth, a lot like a smile, but an evil glitter in her dark eyes belied the pleasant expression. It was a source of frustration for her, so she tried a few other looks before giving up and turning off the make-up mirror. The music box wound down and the tiny, twisting, headless ballerina stopped rotating.

    A few minutes later, she breezed through the thickly carpeted hallways of her oceanfront condo, nodding regally at the handsome young man who opened the door to her salon for her. It was a pleasure to have such a good-looking boy-toy working as her in-home bodyguard. She thought maybe she’d employ another, just to have matching bookends.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I love her too, Patricia! She is the quintessential evil step-mother for the modern world. Though her taste in bookends is probably spot-on. LOL Thanks for sharing!

  5. Daryl Devore says:

    I fI ever get back to 2 WIP it’s going to have a nasty villian in it. Think Gargamel from the Smurfs!

    This is the villian from Black Dorn – my only villian to date.

    Malack lowered his sword, looked at Duna Trea, and followed her gaze to Branwyn.
    A cold chill shivered down his spine.
    Timous licked his lips. “If I cannot have the one I purchased, I shall take another. Maybe two.”
    “You may take nothing from Black Dorn.”
    “You cannot tell me what I can and cannot do.”
    “I am Gon-Dra ((heir to the throne)) of Black Dorn.”
    “I am the stronger soldier, smarter and more cunning. I should be gon-dra.” Timous threw his chest forward. “I could make Black Dorn the most feared castle in all the land. The riches and power should be mine.”
    “The title, by birthright, is mine.”
    Timous waved his sword in Malack’s face. “Only if you do not die.”
    Malack slapped Timous’ sword away.
    “Worried I might give you another scar?” The sneer on Timous’ face matched the tone of his voice.
    “Why are you here? It is not for a Dune. Or do you need twelve strong soldiers to help you control a mere woman?” Malack waited until the patrons had stopped chuckling. Scratching his chin, he tilted his head to the side.”Or are you trying to take the castle with twelve men? I rode in behind you. There are no others to help you fight. You cannot hope to win with such a small garrison.”
    “I only need to kill one.”
    Malack stared at his brother for a moment. “Your hatred of me is that strong?”
    “I should be gon-dra!” Timous held his sword to his chest, the hilt forming a cross.
    Malack flinched. Branwyn noticed, but did not understand what had startled him. Neither brother spoke.
    A lecherous grin crossed Timous’ mouth as he pointed his sword at Branwyn. “That is quite a beauty that sits in the place next to the gon-dra’s. I imagine she beds well.”

  6. D'Ann Lindun says:

    You can probably guess mine….that’s right, Garth from A Real Bad Burn.

    “Garth—” She looked up with tears glimmering in her eyes. “I’m pregnant. What will the good people of Big Horn say about your mistress and bastard?”
    His hands on his tie stilled. A baby. Christ. The thought made his still semi-hard pecker go as limp as a ninety-year-old geezer’s. He’d had a vasectomy years ago. He sooner would have cut off his own balls before he brought a child into this twisted world. No way in hell would he ever subject a kid to an upbringing like his.
    Patrice wasn’t going to go away quietly, like the others. Calmly, he took off his tie and lifted her head by a handful of her bright red hair. “You lying bitch. That’s the oldest trick in the book.”
    Too late, she realized her mistake as he wrapped his tie around her neck. She whimpered. “No, Garth—”
    Her eyes bugged out and her face turned blue. She clawed at his chest, his arms but he held her away from striking distance until she went limp. “Slaters don’t marry whores.” He dropped her limp body. “Oh, wait. Daddy did.”

  7. What a great idea, Jenna! I enjoyed reading your post, as well as the comments left by others.
    My favorite villain is Reverend Gregory Houston from my book I.O.U. SEX. Greg is a televangelist who preaches against the sins that he himself commits. Who doesn’t hate a hypocrite?

  8. Brenda says:

    This is so cool and a very fresh idea. And I really enjoyed reading others villains.

    My favorite villain is none other than the King of evil doers. His name is Lucifer. The snippet I have used here is actually from a long scene I’d written solely to help me understand the rich history behind my novel, Love’s Prophecy and how all things tie together.
    And of course understanding villains and what drives them is a very important step to writing an complete story.

    It wasn’t long before The Creator took matters into His own hands and called Lucifer home to the Sacred Dimension. When Lucifer appeared in front of The Creator, his heart filled with anger for the first time. Anger to have been brought back against his will when he desired nothing else but the Earth.

    “My son, why do you not come at will?” The Creator asked.

    Lucifer bowed low. “Forgive me, my Lord. The Earth, in all her glory, I love beyond measure and my heart desires to remain.”

    “This I know for I have read your heart’s desire, but the Earth was created for another purpose.” The Creator stood and tilted Lucifer’s chin up. “This is your home, my son. The Earth will be home to my other children.”

    “Other children?” Lucifer gazed at his brothers and sisters who stood against the stone walls. “Who be these others, my Lord?”

    “All will be made clear.” The Creator walked over to the large arched window cut from the white stone, looking east toward Earth. “They are waking up as we speak.” He turned and looked each angel in the eye and sent them His thoughts and plans for these other children whom He called humans.

    As his Father’s thoughts entered Lucifer’s mind, hatred and fear filled his once gentle heart with blackness.

    No! Not his beautiful home. Humans will destroy all with their need for food and shelter. All his animals will be at risk, and his beautiful majestic trees will topple with their biting axes.

  9. I’m sorry. I usually dislike villains so much I don’t have any favorites. But I like the post.

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      That’s okay, Ella. I thought yours might be the villain from Lady Caro’s story. I just read your excerpt, but he seems like a real nasty bit of goods. But thanks for coming by! :)

  10. Sheri Fredricks says:

    I’ll be checking back to read the comments :) and will dig up something to share then!

  11. Carrie-Anne says:

    For me, it’s a very close tie between Urma Pancake Smart of my Atlantic City books and Boris Aleksandrovich Malenkov of my Russian novels, but Boris wins for me just because he’s the interesting-evil type of villain, whereas that old bat Urma is just psycho-evil.

    Boris starts out kind of like Esau, a bit uncouth and impulsive, but generally a decent guy who can be pulled into line by parents and teachers. Once he’s out on his own, expelled from gymnasium for his anti-Bolshevik views, his parents arrested, and living essentially as a civilian refugee with his friends, his evil inclination can no longer be held in check. Sin becomes sweeter ad more familiar, and it’s harder and harder every time to reform his ways and stay good.

    Tip of the iceberg: In the first book, he beats up Lyuba, the female protagonist, when she’s pregnant with their child (who was conceived after he got Lyuba drunk and drugged so she’d stop fighting him off), trafficks drugs, illegally visits Russia twice after legally immigrating to America, and won’t stop trying to win his blood child back from Ivan, the male protagonist and Lyuba’s true love. In the second book, he causes a sex scandal with his young teaching assistant Kseniya, works in the diamond black market, rejoices when his former fiancée Granyechka (his priest’s daughter) loses her two little children to diphtheria and later has a miscarriage and stillbirth, and, worst of all, tricks Lyuba into adultery during her temporary separation from Ivan, when she’s delirious after a difficult birth, reinforcing her delusions with morphine, alcohol, and mescaline. He also writes letters to Ivan in Minnesota, one of them him pretending to be Lyuba.

    This is a typical Boris scene, from Chapter 41, “Union with a Snake,” from the second book:

    “Can you get that brat to shut up? I can’t concentrate on screwing you if he’s going to be interrupting us. It’s time to pay attention to me, not him. He has your attention all day. Now it’s my turn.”

    Lyuba picks up her baby and rocks him back and forth in the dark. “Your father must’ve just had a bad day at work. He never speaks so abusively to his children. That’s something your oldest sister’s birth father does, not your gentle-hearted father.”

    “Do you know if babies can take morphine?”

    “What! That could kill him! Little babies aren’t supposed to take drugs meant for adults! He’s even too little for a smallpox or diphtheria vaccine!”

    “Does he have a pacifier at least? Or a bottle you can ram into his mouth to shut him up while I screw you?”

    Lyuba feels very uneasy, even through her haze of mescaline. This definitely isn’t the way Iván has ever spoken to her, or about one of their children. Particularly not about a baby who’s only a little over three weeks old. She half-heartedly starts to wonder if there’s any kernel of truth to the story Álla was trying to tell her.

    “You know, Állochka was suggesting to me that I’m not dreaming and I’m not being visited by my real husband. She had this whole wild story about how my visitor is really Borís. Right now you’re acting more like him than my sweet husband.”

    “You’re thinking too rationally. You must need to start taking higher doses of morphine again.” Borís grabs his little black bag and heads into the bedroom.

    Lyuba looks up at him with moony eyes after he’s injected her. “My vision just went all fuzzy, and my body feels heavy.”

    “Thank God. Now you can shut the hell up and let me screw you in peace.”

  12. Cara Marsi says:

    Hi, Jenna,

    Thanks for this opportunity. There is something very compelling about villains. In my opinion, the best villains are ones with a trace of humanity, a smidgen of vulnerability. I’m having a hard time remembering my favorite villains from books I’ve read. I’ve written some baddies myself. My favorite of my villains is the demon duke from my werewolf paranormal, “Cursed Mates.” Lord Montague sold his soul to the devil 500 years before because the woman he loved rjected him for Nick, my hero, the Duke of Radford. Montague turned Nick into a werewolf, and now 500 years later they meet again in a final battle. Even though Montague is a demon, it was the love of a woman that still haunts him.

  13. Prince Humperdinck (Princess Bride) – I just love him. He’s horrible – I have my country’s anniversary to plan, a bride to kill and a war to start. I’m swamped!

  14. Sue says:

    Oh dear, I haven’t written any villains… and I guess I don’t get that intimate with villains I’ve read. Back to the drawing board I guess :D

Leave a Reply

