Sweet Saturday Sample–4/14 Only Marriage Will Do

Welcome back to Sweet Saturday Sample!  All excerpts here are rated PG-13 or milder. Today I’m continuing to post from the second book in my House of Pleasure series, Only Marriage Will Do,  set in Georgian London.

I’m going to be out most of Saturday, but never fear!  As soon as I get home in the evening, I will be hopping around the sweet samples!

Seems to be a little mystery afoot here.  Amiable has stepped in to rescue a damsel in distress and to his amazement the damsel–who he’s never seen before–is calling him husband and introducing him as the Earl of Manning (who, if you may recall, is Katarina’s brother from Only Scandal Will Do and a friend of Amiable’s).  Amiable is a tad confused.

Amiable was just able to stop his jaw from dropping open.  What the hell was this all about?  Was this woman actually married to Jack Fitzwilliam?  Despite his confusion he picked up his cue, bowed to the man and said simply, “My lord.”  He shot a questioning look at his “wife” whose smile was still somewhat strained.

            “Philippe and I were betrothed for a short time last year, my dear.  Before the scandal.”  Her eyes blazed angrily at St. Cyr, who had the grace to look discomfited.

            “That was none of my doing, Juliet.  My father broke the betrothal, not I.”  The impassioned words, uttered in English with a cultured French accent, did not sway the lady in the least.

            “But you did not fight for me, Philippe.  Not a single protest.  The servants who returned told me so.  Did you think they did not know?”  Juliet’s eyes narrowed, light sarcasm in her voice.  “You must be unaware of how much talk there is below stairs.  But then, you were always unaware of everything except what pleased your father.  And when it no longer pleased him for you to marry me, you were no longer aware that I existed.”

            “Juliet!  That is not true.” St. Cyr’s hand drifted out, as though he would take hers.  Amiable pulled her toward him and glared at the shorter man.  “I thought of nothing but you, cherie, the whole long year we have been apart.”

            Amiable allowed his face to become surly.  “That is hardly your concern now, my lord.  The lady is my wife and however much you may regret losing her, I must ask you to refrain from such statements of affection lest it become a matter of honor.”  The threat in his voice was real.  By God, if he had to face this popinjay in a duel he would do it.  It hardly mattered anymore that he did not know the lady.  His dislike for St. Cyr was more than ample reason to meet the man.

            A superior sneer raised the Frenchman’s upper lip.  “Oh, but it certainly is my concern, my lord.  I have the prior claim to dear Juliet.  In fact, I must insist that you remove your hands from my wife immediately!”

            “Your wife?”  Amiable managed to merely scowl at the Frenchman, but he sent a curious look toward the young woman who stood beside him.

            “I am not your wife, Philippe.  You must stop saying that!”  Juliet’s voice rose again, her anger obvious.  But Amiable noted that tears also threatened.  Every protective instinct raced forward, bent on shielding his “wife” from more distress.

Don’t you just love a KISA? (Knight in Shining Armor) LOL

Hope you enjoyed a little more of Only Marriage Will Do.  Stop by SSS tomorrow for more from Only Scandal Will Do.  And today be sure to click here to visit more Sweet Samples.

This entry was posted in On Sweet Saturday Sample, On Works in Progress, Only Marriage Will Do and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample–4/14 Only Marriage Will Do

  1. Oh, that woman is of quick wit! LOL. Love your voice in this, and what a sharp, through-the-gut conflict already happening. Awesomeness!

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    Very compelling sample! I love how it sets up the story’s conflict.

  3. Thank you, Jenna, for your encouraging comments on my Sweet Saturday Samples post today. Your positive feedback really increased my confidence about this book, and now I think I may actually see it in print!
    PS: My I.O.U. SEX co-author Sandra Allen left a comment here earlier, and I agree with her 100%. Great post!

  4. Oh, now that is a twisted scene. :) It grabs and engages! I love a Knight in Shining Armor. :)

  5. Lindsay says:

    That last little bite is very intriguing.

  6. What a fun scene! Love the damsel in distress and the clueless hero is a hoot. Can’t wait for more.

  7. Maggie O'Malley says:

    Wow. You’ve got the conflict going.

  8. Patricia Green says:

    You set up the conflict perfectly. Amiable is utterly confused but his instincts are in the romantic-right place. I definitely want to know what’s really going on. Wonderful sample, Jenna.

  9. Wow, whose wife is she? Great sample, Jenna!

  10. Sue says:

    this popinjay – :D the language you use adds or rather makes this historical.

  11. Mirriam Smyth says:

    I like how his protective instincts just rise to the surface even though he’s an unwilling participant in her charade. Can’t wait for more :)

  12. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Oh, good! I love your histies!

  13. Great sample and wow… even up to offering to fight for her honor and he doesn’t even know who she is. *swoon* Can I get me a man like that? LOL

  14. Very, very good. This is going to be a great book.

  15. Daryl Devore says:

    Oh what a tangled web you weave.

    Great excerpt.

  16. Reading this made me long to “hear” the sound of an English voice with a cultured French accent! I enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

