Favorite Character Blogfest

I just saw this blog hop on a dear friend’s blog and thought it a fantastic idea!  Showcase your favorite character (from your own writing) to everyone with a snippet from your work.

The blogfest runs from January 23-25.Here’s how it works:

1. Decide which of your characters you’d like to introduce everyone to, and choose a snippet about this character (preferably no more than 200 words) to share about this character. (A snippet from your manuscript would be awesome, but if you’re not comfortable with that, you can choose to do a character sketch–something to show us your character and writing.)

2. Between January 23-25, tell us who your favorite character you’ve written is and why and post your snippet.

3. Hop around to other participants to check out their favorite characters and a bit of their story.

My favorite character is one only a few of you may have met.  He is my very first hero, from my medieval trilogy Time Enough To Love.

Sir Geoffrey Longford is a knight at the court of King Edward III of England in the year of Our Lord 1348.  He has fought for the king for 10 years, since the age of 18, and is an excellent warrior.  He’s recently been betrothed to a girl he’s never met, but whom he intends to woo because he likes her and wants her to like him in return before they marry.

I love Geoffrey because he’s the perfect hero–a strong, skilled, loyal warrior with a soft, passionate side.  He wants his marriage to be more than just an arrangement–especially after he meets Alyce.   And he’s willing to change in order to make this happen.

Below is an unedited snippet from my first novel, being revised this coming summer.

“Are you not coming?”

Geoffrey rose and stretched.  “Nay, Thomas.  I have business to attend to in the morning.  Another time, mayhap.”

With a groan, Thomas left the chamber to Geoffrey, who went to stare out the window at the shadowy trees across the royal park. Thomas’s question still preyed on his mind.  He pondered the way his flesh seemed on fire whenever he touched Alyse, the lightning stab of desire that coursed through him when he caught her eye.   Such feelings were alien, unknown in all his previous dealings with women.  This was different—and disturbing.

He sighed, and thought of the changes that would soon rule his life.  Already ruled it.  His refusal to carouse with Thomas was the first sacrifice.  Geoffrey could match Thomas pace for pace in whatever pastime they favored and this was the first night he had cried off.  Too bad his friend was disappointed, but he had devised a plan to satisfy Alyse’s need for time and wanted to put it into motion at the soonest possible moment.  Which meant an early breakfast was in order. 

Click on the button on the right for details on how to join/participate in this hop.  You could win a critique from Melanie Billings, Acquisitions Editor at Whiskey Creek Press and other prizes. :)

Thanks so much for coming by and meeting Geoffrey. :)

You might also want to stop by Starla Kaye’s Blog today where Pam Kimball, my heroine from Almost Perfect, is being interviewed.  Apparently she’s got a lot to say about her 1Night Stand experience!  Hope you drop by.

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, On Writing Historical Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Favorite Character Blogfest

  1. Kristy Shen says:

    Ooooh. Very nice and hot. I like your writing :) Count me in as a new follower. I hope you can drop by my blog!

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    He sounds like an awesome character, and I love stories set in the Middle Ages. Maybe someday I’ll take a break from 20th century historical fiction and write something set in the Medieval period myself.

  3. K. Writerly says:

    What really caught my eye here was his willingness to give Alyse the time she asked for. Yup, you are totally right about his tenderness and warm heart right there. Nice. (^__^)

  4. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham says:

    OOPS!
    Think I was supposed to put my snippet on WW, right?
    Sorry.
    Too used to Tuesday Teasers!

  5. Skye Warren says:

    He sounds perfect :)

  6. Angie says:

    Sounds like a great character. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I like Geoffrey a lot and would like to get the chance to know him better, but you stopped posting chapters for critique. Hint. :)

  8. I like how you can really feel his stead-fast character in the way he’s analyzing his own responses. Very nicely done!

  9. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham says:

    Great! You have awesome characters! Here’s mine, Cordero Ybarra from Branded:

    Only one of the many reasons he had never wanted to tell her how he got the scar. The shame silenced him. He should have been castrated; he was no longer a man. Maybe they had gelded him because he didn’t have the balls to turn and tell her what she wanted to know. He couldn’t tell what had been done to him, or why.
    Shudders racked his body as if he had the flu, but he had no tears. They had dried long ago, leaving him empty as the high desert. He unwound her fingers from his waist and stood. And he told a half-truth. “For having the wrong color skin.”

  10. Brenda says:

    Wow, Jenna. You have me seriously intrigued! How many other great characters do you have stashed away?

  11. Sue says:

    Wow you posted that late!

    You’re right I’ve never met Geoffrey and Alyse must be the original spelling…

    Ok – so of course this is beautifully written with your usual visual descriptions, but where’s the conflict???

    Thanks for introducing a new character to me.

    • jennajaxon says:

      “Where’s the conflict?” you ask. *grins* Well, for starters, she’s infatuated with another courtier. And doesn’t like Geoffrey the hulk very much. Oh, and the guy she’s infatuated with is his best friend. :) I can’t wait to start revising this one. Thanks for coming by, Sue!

  12. Lisa Kumar says:

    What a great snippet and blog hop, Jenna! I signed up. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Sounds fascinating. I love it when I guy is so smitten he changes his habits to make you happy. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Julie Daines says:

    You had me with the picture of Clive Owen!! I love a good medieval romance!

  15. Darn! No time today to participate in this, and tomorrow is Horny Hump Day. Maybe she’ll have it again? Anyway, great post, Jenna. This is a story I haven’t been exposed to before, and I’m fascinated. It looks wonderful. Geoffrey sounds like good hero material.

  16. caseamajor says:

    Oh Geoffrey is a keeper fore sure. But he’s not my favorite Jenna Jaxson character. I think we both know who I’d fight you for. Speaking of, where is my guy you promised me? LOL

  17. Wonderfully written snippet! Great emotion. And who doesn’t love a hot knight?!

  18. Lindsay says:

    I wish I’d known about this earlier, I would have joined.

Leave a Reply

